Welcome to Hunab Ku

The three of us, Mum, Matt, and myself were pottering about in the used bookstore a few days ago and I found a wonderful book for reawakening your Spirit and Creativity.  It is called  “Hunab Ku- 77 Sacred Symbols for Balancing Body and Spirit”, written by Karen Speerstra and Joel Speerstra.

 

I opened the book and within the fist 2 pages (of the Introduction) knew that I had found the seeds for a deep garden of perennials.  The first Symbol is perfect for where I am in my my Cycle.

 

When you build anything, you start with the base.  With this symbol, they have combined Native American Mythology, Chakra Medicine, and Mayan Numerology to create our base.  Seated in the Muladhara Chakra, bathed in the red of ochre, the color of birth-blood and buried with the builders of the the Effigy Bear Mound in McGregor, Iowa, United States.  Expressed with the Mayan 1 for Solitude and Strength, it symbolises our return to the womb or cave to rest and rally our forces befiore returning to an active role in our lives.

 

Another symbol inherent in the Great Bear Mound is the powerful,protective aspect of Mother Bear with her cubs.  Ursus Major could as easily be Ursus Mater, with her cub, Ursus Minor sparkling along with her in the night skies.

I will be searching for my own Bear Archetypes and tales over the next week, and I welcome anything you would like to share, O Constant Reader (TY Stephen King for the nickname).

6 Responses to “Welcome to Hunab Ku”

  1. This symbol resonates with me too. I have chronic fatigue and am very much in my cave. I just went to see some visiting Buddhists monks and had to leave after two minutes because of the overpowering smell of incense and the noise of the sand scrappers they were using for their mandala. I retreated home to my personal cave.
    I’d love to see an image of the symbol you found if it is possible. Also I’m in Australia and don’t really understand the reference to the Effigy Bear Mound. I’d love to read any more information that you’d like to share.
    Good luck with your new anti-depressant – I can relate to problems with medication.
    Cheers – Suzanne

  2. Suzanne sweetie,

    If you check my blog you will see an artist’s image of the Effigy Bear Mound. It is built entirely of earth, made by hand by the Native Americans in approx. 600 C. E..

    Bear is a strong Native American Image, because Brother Bear can walk on two legs like Man, they revere Bear and follow his teachings, of protection of the family, of accepting the cyclical nature of life.

    Hugs,
    GwenGuin

  3. Wow-what an incredible experience.
    ANd it sounds as if this is something I should check out as well…I am realising over and over again in the past weeks that I am at the mid-point in my life where rebuilding and reconstructing is necessary and pertinent…sound guidance and wisdom is always more than welcome…thank you for sharing this…

  4. Ooo you know I have to try this!! I think everyone has this Archetype in a way, though. Especially females with a strong Mothering instinct. Or anyone going through down time.

  5. Sally Says:

    I feel for you, Gwen! The process of changing medications and trying others in order to find the right one can be soooooo frustrating! I love Bear Medicine. I learned much about Bear when I was studying with the Lakota Sioux. It is awesome energy and a great place to start.

  6. oh wonderful wonderful – i love the way in which the universe works – you wonder into a bookshop and exactly the right one presents itself to you – lovely stuff 🙂
    I am glad you have found new meds which suit you better – seems many of us, of course, have similar experiences!

Leave a Reply

